Nate Polly – Headed Back




This album features the debut solo recordings of Letcher County native, Nate Polly. Nate Polly is a 68 year old musician from Bottom Fork Road in Letcher County, Kentucky where he was raised and currently resides. Nate Polly worked for the railroad for thirty-seven years and all that hard work is reflected in his music. He sings about simpler times; cooking breakfast with his grandparents, working on the railroad, the back-breaking work of the mines, and gigging around with a string band. Nate Polly was the “next to last” of seven children, and his mother was his largest musical influence because of her life-long passion for singing. Nate played with a bluegrass band called Kentucky Mountain Grass, and he remained with that band for twenty years. Nate played with the Trough Sloppers, an old-time string band, which featured Roy Tackett, Jesse Wells, Jamie Wells, Nate Polly, and Dave Dougherty. He later helped form another string band, with Rich Kirby, called Rich and the Po’ Folk which featured the talents of Rich Kirby, Nate Polly, Brett Ratliff, and John Haywood. After all these years of hard work and “Headed Back” is the first time Nate Polly’s songs have been available to the public, aside from his occasional performances at open mic events in Whitesburg, Kentucky.
Produced by Jesse Wells & Matthew Carter
Engineered, Mixed, & Mastered by Jesse Wells
Cover Art by Sam McKinney
Design by Carrie Wells Carter
Edited by Matthew Carter
Recorded in Studio C at the Appalshop in Whitesburg, KY and The Kentucky Center for Traditional Music in Morehead, KY
Nate Polly: Guitar, Vocals
Jesse Wells: Guitar, Banjo, Fiddle, Dobro, Mandolin, Bass
Sarah Wood: Vocals
Sarah Kate Morgan: Mountain Dulcimer
Rich Kirby: Mandolin, Vocals
Chris “Doc” Haas: Banjo
Track Listing:
1. Red Mountain Wine
2. Ole Jim
3. Norfolk Southern Rail
4. You Got the Grass
5. Got Me a Job Outside
6. Thirty Inch Coal
7. A Song for Jo
8. The Bartender and the Drifter
9. Under the Hill
10. Another Load of Coal
11. Mama Fried the Taters
12. Black Mountain
13. Kudzu Blues
14. We Were Rich When Mama Sang
15. Coal Black Gold
16. The L&N Don’t Stop Here Anymore
17. Jimmy Brown the Newsboy
18. One More Dollar
Available for digital download:

Additional information

Audio Format